From Ego to Eco - Transforming Business, Society and Self

In their new book, Leading from the Emerging Future - from Ego-system to Eco-system Economies, Otto Scharmer and Katrin Kaufer suggest that addressing today’s global challenges requires a threefold revolution: a revolution of economic thought from ego-system awareness to eco-system awareness, a revolution of relationships among partners and stakeholders from reactive to generative, and an institutional revolution from hierarchy and organizing around special interest to co-creative eco-systems and organizing around commons.  Their intention is to contribute to the currently emerging global transformation and new economy movement by connecting the dots across eight acupuncture points. The authors feel these points need to be addressed in order to lead personal, relational, and institutional transformation to a new economy that creates well-being and happiness for all. The book also offers a short introduction to Theory U and presencing, that is, the art and practice of leading from the emerging future.

Based on their new book and by using video live-streaming and Webex group discussion technology, Otto and Katrin will offer an interactive series of 3 live-online sessions on October 3, 10, and 17, 2013. You can participate either as an individual (in which case we will pair you up for the group discussion parts with fellow participants from other parts of the world) or as a small group of three or more in which case you will have your small group discussion locally with your fellow participants in the same room. These new online technologies combine video live-streaming with webex group conversation to offer a real time experiment in order to venture into new territories of global sensing and movement building. Join our community and movement by participating in this very first co-creative delivery!

Lecturers

  • Week 1: October 3
    From Ego to Eco: Breathing New Life Into A Dying Civilization
  • Week 2: October 10
    Eight Acupuncture Points of Transforming Capitalism: The Matrix of Economic Evolution
  • Week 3: October 17
    Leading from the Emerging Future: The Individual, Relational, and Institutional Inversion

Times

  • USA: 10.00-11.30am (Boston, MA)
  • Brazil (Sao Paulo): 11.00-12.30
  • United Kingdom: 3.00-4.30pm
  • Europe Central European Time: 16.00-17.30
  • South Africa: 16.00-17.30 India: 19.30-21.00
  • India: 19.30 - 21.00
  • China: 22.00-23.30
  • Singapore: 10.00-11.30pm
  • Indonesia (Central): 10.00-11.30pm
  • Japan: 23.00 - 24.30
  • Australia (Sydney): 12.00-1.30 AM on following day

Format

These interactive sessions combine a live-video stream from Boston with webex presentation, question/answering periods and group discussions in which participants connect in small groups of 3-4.

Each class will also include a small practical assignment that helps to ground the classroom discussion in the real life transformation and change work of the participants.

Time Required

The minimum time requirement for participating in the Global Classroom is 90 minutes in the formal weekly sessions and 90 minutes of individual work outside the session (to practice using the tools presented in each session). In addition, participants are encouraged to schedule an additional session outside of the classroom.

Virtual Class Lounge

To help deepen your understanding, we recommend that you share your experiences in our virtual class lounge after each weekly session.

Small Group Work

We recommend that participants meet in small groups for 30 minutes before and after each session. You will receive instructions for the small group discussions each week. Indicate on your registration whether you intend to participate in this element of the Presencing Global Classroom, and we will provide contact information for four other participants. Small groups connect either via Skype or by dialing a US conference call number (the phone charges must be covered by the participant). Participants will self-organize their small group work.

Reading

The readings will be based on the new book Leading from the Emerging Future - from Ego-system to Eco-system Economies by Otto Scharmer and Katrin Kaufer.  Reading the book prior or during the class is highly recommended.

Questions

If you have any questions feel free to contact Angela Baldini (baldini@presencing.com)

Moderated by Kelvy Bird
Live course
3 Oct 2013 - 17 Oct 2013
Location: 
Online